The Book Of Judges

Welcome To The Sermon Series On The Book Of Judges

The book of Judges includes several interesting genres; Poetry, Riddles, and mainly narrative history. Its author is not known but it’s usually assumed that Samuel, the prophet wrote it. It was written about 1086-1004 B.C. within we find people like Othniel, Ehud, Deborah, Gideon, Abimelech, Jephthah, Samson and of course Delilah.

Its purpose was to teach Israel that God is faithful and certain to punish sin, therefore each person must remain loyal and devoted to Him. This book shows the immediate generations after the conquest of the Promised Land and sadly, the result of unfaithfulness is similar to what we have seen in the past, disaster!

I’m sure you’ll love this eleven-part sermon series which will hopefully bring this part of Israel’s history to life, where ‘everyone did as they saw fit.’

Click On The Icon Below To Read Or Click On The To Listen

1. When The Cat’s Away! Judges 1-2  
2. God’s Lion. Othniel. Judges 3:1-11  
3. Two Unlikely Heroes. Ehud AND Shamgar. Judges 3:12-31  
4. The Prophetess With A Sting In Her Tail. Deborah. Judges 4-5  
5. The Farmer Who Struggled To Obey God. Gideon. Judges 6  
6. The Farmer Who Finally Obeyed God. Gideon. Judges 7-8  
7. My Father Is King. Abimelek. Judges 9  
8. The Loser Who Became A Winner! Jephthah. Judges 10  
9. The Victory On Jawbone Hill. Samson. Judges 13-15  
10. The Man Who Could Resist Anything But Temptation! Samson. Judges 16  
11. Everyone Did As They Saw Fit. Judges 17-21