Complete Study Of The Book Of Leviticus


There’s no doubt that the Book Of Leviticus is probably one of the least-read books in the entire Scriptures. Some feel it is irrelevant today, some feel it has no value for the Christian today and yet it’s full of deep truths, concerning sacrifice and worship. When we approach any book of the Bible, we must remember that it is inspired by God, 2 Timothy 3:16, and it is useful for our learning, encouragement, and gives us hope, Romans 15:4.

The Author

The Book of Leviticus is part of what is called the Pentateuch meaning five, ‘penta’, which means five, and ‘teuchos’ means tool or implement. It’s commonly accepted that Moses is the author of the Pentateuch, that is Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

Genesis begins with creation and it depicts the rise of God’s people, Exodus begins in bondage, it tells of the redemption from Egypt and Leviticus begins in sacrifice, it sets forth the ritual of worship.

Moses probably wrote Leviticus during the time Israel was wandering in the wilderness, this would not be long after they have been delivered from Egypt, Exodus 40:17 / Numbers 1:1, between 1,440 and 1,400 B.C.

As we go through this study you will notice that the phrase, ‘the LORD spoke to Moses,’ is found several times in the first twenty chapters, Leviticus 1:1-3:17 / Leviticus 4:1-5:19. You will also notice that God speaks to ‘Aaron and his sons,’ several times throughout the book, Leviticus 6:9 / Leviticus 6:25 / Leviticus 8:1-2. There are also times throughout the book where God speaks to Moses and Aaron, Leviticus 11:1 / Leviticus 13:1 / Leviticus 14:33 / Leviticus 15:1.

The Book

The book begins with laws and regulations concerning offerings, there are five types of offerings discussed, burnt offerings, meal offerings, peace offerings, sin offerings and guilt offerings, Leviticus 1-7. As the book continues, we read about God’s laws concerning sacrifices, Leviticus 8-10, God’s ceremonial laws concerning the priesthood, Leviticus 11-22, God’s ceremonial laws concerning purification, and His laws concerning sacred feasts and festivals, tithes, offerings, sabbatical and jubilee years and vows, Leviticus 23-27.


The Book of Leviticus is a book about the rituals of worship and holiness. In this, it is a continuation of the Law which is outlined in Exodus. Exodus ends with the construction of the Tabernacle, Exodus 40:1-33 and Leviticus tells us about the worship which takes place within that Tabernacle, Leviticus 1:1.

Exodus ends with the glory of the Lord moving into the Tabernacle, Exodus 40:34-38, Leviticus picks up with the presence of the Lord calling out to Moses from inside the Tabernacle. Leviticus teaches God’s people how they are to approach Him and live pleasing in His sight. Its central command is to ‘be holy’, Leviticus 19:2.

Useful Outline

Laws concerning Sacrifice. Leviticus 1-7
A historical section featuring the consecration of the priests. Leviticus 8-9
The sin of Nadab and Abihu. Leviticus 10
A section on laws of purification from ceremonial uncleanness. Leviticus 11-15
The Day of Atonement. Leviticus 16
Laws dealing with the conduct of God’s people. Leviticus 17-20
Laws concerning the holiness of the priests. Leviticus 21-22
A discussion of holy days and feasts. Leviticus 23-24
The Sabbatical and Jubilee Years. Leviticus 25
Promises and threats connected with obedience to the laws. Leviticus 26
A supplement containing the laws concerning vows. Leviticus 27

The last two chapters dealing with the penalties for disobedience and with the making of vows before the Lord, Leviticus 26-27, have been described as an appendix or a supplement, which is something that was added on at the end of the book because there was no better place for it to go. They describe what is to take place if the people do not pursue a course of holiness.

To Continue To Read This Study In Its entirety, Or To Download It To Your PC, Please Click On The  Icon Below

Complete Study Of The Book Of Leviticus